14 Varieties and Types of Forget-Me-Nots

Spread the love

Forget-me-nots are such delightful plants that you’ll want to grow a few different varieties in your garden to add some color and cheerfulness to your yard. These pretty plants can even be grown in pots to adorn your front entry or your outdoor entertaining area.

Here are the most common true species of forget-me-nots and also a few different cultivars that are available. Make sure you check these forget me nots care tips before growing them.

Alpine Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis alpestris)

The alpine forget-me-not can be found growing naturally in woodlands and meadows in Britain. This hardy biennial has bright blue flowers with yellow centers. It only grows to a height of around 8 inches (20 cm). It is also the state flower of Alaska.

Broadleaf Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis latifolia)

This pretty plant often has pink flowers but sometimes also blue ones. Its leaves are oval in shape and larger than other varieties. The flowers grow in a cluster that starts out being fairly compact. Eventually, the cluster opens up and becomes quite loose with lots of pretty flowers. 

Changing Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis discolor)

There’s a reason why this variety is commonly called “changing forget-me-not”. When the flowers first appear, they’re a cream or yellow color. They then turn to a shade of pink and finally change to a striking blue color. This variety can reach a maximum of 20 inches (50 cm) in height.

Early Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis ramosissima)

This dainty little plant only grows to a height of 2 inches (5 cm). The flowers on this plant are quite tiny but they’re produced en masse and with a mass planting will produce quite a spectacular display. It can often be seen growing in large numbers on hilly fields in Southern Finland.

Field Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis arvensis)

This pretty forget-me-not has lovely blue five-petaled flowers with striking yellow centers. These typically grow in clusters on longish stems. The plant grows to a height of 4 to 16 inches (10 to 40 cm).

One of the more unusual aspects of this variety is that the seeds can remain dormant in the soil for around 30 years and will only germinate when conditions are ideal.

Strict Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis stricta)

This variety is also commonly referred to blue forget-me-not thanks to its lovely blue flowers. It can grow to a height of 8 inches (20 cm). This is the most common form of forget-me-nots that most people would be familiar with.

Tufted Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis laxa)

This is another variety that doesn’t mind growing in wet areas as it naturally grows along streams and on the banks of ponds in North America. The flowers can be in a range of colors including blue, purple, and red. Like many other varieties, the flowers grow in clusters on long racemes. 

Water Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis scorpioides)

This is the perfect variety to grow in areas of your garden that tend to be a little wet as it grows naturally around wetlands, marshes, and along the shores of rivers and lakes. The pretty blue, white or pink flowers grow in clusters on longish stems. The plant itself will reach a height of around 10 inches (25 cm).

Woodland Forget-Me-Not (Myosotis sylvatica)

This pretty biennial plant has gorgeous bright blue, pink, or white flowers with pink flower buds. The flowers appear in spring and can continue through to mid-summer. This variety prefers to grow in moist soil that is well-drained either in full sun or part shade. It can grow to a height of 12 inches (30 cm).

Apart from these different species of forget-me-nots, there are also a variety of cultivars that are grown around the world. Here are just a few of the more striking ones.

Myosotis sylvatica ‘Victoria Indigo Blue’

This cultivar has striking blue flowers on loose terminal clusters. The flowers are quite small and have five petals. They also have a cheery yellow center. The leaves are lance-shaped, green, and hairy. This particular variety self-seeds readily but the resultant plants may not be identical to the mother plant.

Myosotis sylvatica ‘Rosylva’

This lovely cultivar has the most delightful pink flowers. The flowers have the distinctive yellow center that is endemic to most forget-me-nots. The leaves are gray-green in color and the plant self-seeds readily in the garden.

Myosotis sylvatica ‘Snowsylva’ and ‘Bluesylva’

The ‘Snowsylva’ cultivar is similar to the ‘Rosylva’ variety except that it has snowy white flowers with yellow centers. There’s also an additional variety called ‘Bluesylva’ that has bright blue flowers.

Myosotis sylvatica ‘Mon Amie Blue’

This is another very pretty blue forget-me-not. The flowers are a soft-blue color and have distinctive yellow centers. This variety also self-seeds quite prolifically.

Myosotis sylvatica ‘Gold ‘n’ Sapphires’

This variety is quite unique in that it has golden yellow leaves that are tipped with a darker green. The flowers are a deep blue to purple similar to the color of sapphires.

See more: Forget-me-not flowers meaning

*image by dianazh/depositphotos

Spread the love